1000 Stitches

Challenging Angel in Tatting

Posted on: November 3, 2008

I love to make lace, which comes down to string and a hole!  Knit lace, crochet lace, tatting, and any odd, wonderful thing I stumble upon (like sprang and naalbinding).

Herewith my most recent:  a tatted Angel created in response to Sharon Briggs’ latest design challenge

Tatted interpretation of a crochet pattern

3 Responses to "Challenging Angel in Tatting"

I love your angel. I love angels period. Can you share how you made her with me. She is pretty and really different from the norm.

Hi,
You can see the inspiration for my version of the Angel on Sharon’s Design Challenge Blog http://tattingdesign.blogspot.com/

Overall the body, arm and head are block tatted.
The trumpet is pearl tatting with a couple of rings and picots at the end
The skirt is chains with a bead in the middle of each segment and then the following row of chains is lock joined to the thread with the bead on it.

The wing is a set of chains that end in a cluny.

The trailing tie from the waist is spiral tatted just a good way to use the ends from the body.

I did it all by guess and by gosh, just trying to reproduce the challenge angel.

If I did it again, I would try to give her a softer outline, instead of being so blocky. I didn’t intend it to be a published pattern, because I find that the issues in publishing overwhelm my ability to create in the first place

Patty!

Your angel is pretty good for not expecting to publish it. I like that you used different types of tatting in the project. I think it is still out of my league…….but maybe someday. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Sarah: Your angel is pretty good for not expecting to publish it. I like that you used different types of tatting in the project. I think it is still out
  • stringandahole: Hi, You can see the inspiration for my version of the Angel on Sharon's Design Challenge Blog http://tattingdesign.blogspot.com/ Overall the body,
  • CelticDreamWeaver: I love your angel. I love angels period. Can you share how you made her with me. She is pretty and really different from the norm.

Categories

